Skip to Content
Skip to Navigation

School Fact Sheet

The UW School of Nursing has a national and international reputation for excellence. An unusually fertile environment for nursing research guides and shapes its baccalaureate and graduate educational programs. It also builds practice that emphasizes leadership skills for the health care needs of a multicultural world.


Contact

Box 357260
University of Washington
Seattle, WA 98195
Phone: 206-543-8736
Email:
nscomm@uw.edu


Faculty: Departmentally - FCN


Molly Altman, MN, CNM, MPH
Clinical Instructor
Research Interests: Health policy and resource utilization in maternity care, cost of childbirth, maternal-child health epidemiology, and family planning and midwifery in low resource countries.
Email Address: mraltman@uw.edu

Sally Avenson, CNM, MSN
Clinical Instructor
Research Interests: Nurse-Midwifery
Email Address: avenson@uw.edu

Kathryn E. Barnard, PhD, FAAN
Professor Emerita
Research Interests: Ecological factors of child development
Email Address: kathyb@uw.edu

Susan T. Blackburn, PhD, FAAN, RN
Professor Emerita
Research Interests: High-risk infants and their families, infant caregiving interactions and environments
Email Address: sblackbn@uw.edu

Maria E. Bleil, PhD
Clinical Assistant Professor
Research Interests:
Email Address: mbleil@uw.edu

Cathryn Booth-LaForce, PhD, FAPS, RYT
Professor
Research Interests: Social-emotional development of children; parenting and child-care; menopause transition; complementary and alternative therapies; yoga therapy
Booth-LaForce is the Charles and Gerda Spence Endowed Professor in Nursing
Email Address: ibcb@uw.edu

Elena Bosque, PhD, ARNP
Senior Lecturer, Lead NNP/NCNS Tracks
Research Interests: Multidisciplinary work to improve technologies that the neonatal intensive care unit nurse uses to make clinical decisions
Email Address: ebosque@uw.edu

Patricia A. Brandt, PhD, RN
Professor Emerita
Research Interests: Families and children/adolescents with chronic illness: adaptation and interventions
Email Address: pbrandt@uw.edu

Marie Annette Brown, PhD, RN, ARNP, FNP-BC, FAAN
Professor
Research Interests: Health promotion and Lifestyle strategies (light, exercise and vitamins) for treatment of mild depression; family responses to life threatening illness; grief and loss, end of life care
Email Address: mabrown@uw.edu

Rizza Cea,
Lecturer
Research Interests:
Email Address: @uw.edu

Barbara B. Cochrane, PhD, RN, FAAN
Professor
Research Interests: Older women's health, gerontology and healthy aging, postmenopausal hormone therapy, symptoms and symptom management, psychosocial oncology and cardiovascular nursing
Dr. Cochrane is the de Tornyay Term Professor for Healthy Aging
Email Address: barbc@uw.edu

Colleen Dillon, PhD
Lecturer
Research Interests: infant mental health
Email Address: codillon@uw.edu

Susan Flagler, DNS, RNC
Associate Professor Emerita
Research Interests: Women's health care; nurse practitioner education
Email Address: susanf@uw.edu

Shuyuann Foreman, PhD
Clinical Assistant Professor
Research Interests:
Email Address: yuann@uw.edu

Sarah Gimbel, PhD, MPH, BSN
Assistant Professor
Research Interests:
Email Address: sgimbel@uw.edu

Katherine J. Graham, PhD (Sociology/Nursing), FAAN
Professor Emerita
Research Interests: Quality of life of women across life span, women's health, community health care systems management health and health outcomes, policy
Email Address: kathyg@uw.edu

Karen E. Hays, DNP, CNM, ARNP
Clinical Assistant Professor
Research Interests:
Email Address: kehays@uw.edu

Marte Hoffman, MN, ARNP
Senior Lecturer
Research Interests: Maternal-Infant Health
Email Address: hoffmanm@uw.edu

Melissa Hoffman,

Research Interests:
Email Address: @uw.edu

Shwu-Shin Hou, MN, ARNP
Lecturer
Research Interests:
Email Address: sshou@uw.edu

Gail M. Houck, PhD, RN, PMHNP
Professor
Research Interests:
Email Address: houckg2@uw.edu

Sue Huth, RNC, BSN
Lecturer
Research Interests:
Email Address: suehuth@uw.edu

Pamela L. Jordan, PhD, RNC
Associate Professor
Research Interests: Expectant/new fatherhood, transition to parenthood, childbearing families, grounded theory methodology
Email Address: pjordan@uw.edu

Anne C. Kalkbrenner, RN, MN
Lecturer
Research Interests: Research Interests: Nursing Professional Development; Transition to Practice
Email Address: annepink@uw.edu

Ira Kantrowitz-Gordon, PhD, CNM, ARNP
Assistant Professor
Research Interests: preterm birth, postpartum depression, human milk banking, and discourse analysis
Email Address: irakg@uw.edu

Maia H. Kelley, RN, ARNP
Lecturer
Research Interests:
Email Address: maiahd@uw.edu

Jean Kelly, Ph.D.
Professor Emeritus
Research Interests: Testing the efficacy and effectiveness of caregiver-child interactions to promote social and emotional health, birth to five.
Email Address: jkelly@uw.edu

Gail Kieckhefer, PhD, PNP-BC, AE-C, ARNP
Professor
Research Interests: Motivation for health promotional and illness management behavior in children. Primary focus is children with asthma and their parents.
Dr. Kieckhefer is the Joanne Montgomery Endowed Professor in Nursing
Email Address: gailmk@uw.edu

Marcia Killien, RN, PhD, FAAN
Professor
Research Interests: Women's health, reproductive decision making, work and family health
Email Address: killien@uw.edu

Eunjung Kim, PhD, ARNP
Associate Professor
Research Interests: Influence of Korean American parenting on adolescents' developmental outcomes
Email Address: eunjungk@uw.edu

Andrea Landis, PhD, FNP-BC, RN
Assistant Professor
Research Interests: adolescents, sleep, obesity
Email Address: amlandis@uw.edu

Judy Lazarus, MSN, RN, CNM
Senior Lecturer
Research Interests:
Email Address: jlazarus@uw.edu

Frances Marcus Lewis, PhD, FAAN
Professor
Research Interests: Complex organizational analysis, evaluation research, psychosocial factors in chronic illness
Dr. Lewis is the Virginia and Prentice Bloedel Professor
Email Address: fmlewis@uw.edu

C. Fiona Macpherson, RN, PhD, CPON
Clinical Assistant Professor
Research Interests: Symptom management for adolescents with cancer, end of life care
Email Address: cfmacph@uw.edu

Ellen Mitchell, PhD, RN
Associate Professor Emerita
Research Interests: Women's health, symptom experiences, menstrual cycle, menopausal transition
Email Address: nellem@uw.edu

M. Rebecca O'Connor, PhD, RN
Assistant Professor
Research Interests:
Email Address: rebeccao@uw.edu

Monica Oxford, MSW, PhD
Research Associate Professor
Research Interests: early parenting and child developmental outcomes for vulnerable families living in challenging environments
Email Address: mloxford@uw.edu

Barbara Plovie, MN, ARNP, BC
Lecturer
Research Interests: Personal knowing through autoethnography. Clinical education research including evaluation of multiple maternity clinical sites, evaluation of clinical student competence and confidence after maternity skills lab.
Email Address: bplovie@uw.edu

Marijo M. Ratcliffe, RN, MN
Clinical Instructor
Research Interests: Pediatric pulmonary care
Email Address: mamr@uw.edu

Bobbie Salveson, DNSc, CPNP
Clinical Assistant Professor
Research Interests: Research interests: Patient/family understanding of genetic information, Clinical outcomes of rare disease, Genetics and the environment, and Best practices in clinical education
Email Address: salveson@uw.edu

Jennifer Sonney, MN, ARNP, PPCNP-BC
Senior Lecturer
Research Interests:
Email Address: jsonney@uw.edu

Susan J. Spieker, PhD
Professor
Research Interests: Developmental psychology, mother/infant interaction
Email Address: spieker@uw.edu

Melanie Summerour, RN, ARNP
Lecturer
Research Interests: pediatric nursing
Email Address: melanie5@uw.edu

Karen A. Thomas, PhD
Professor
Research Interests: Preterm infants, thermoregulation, care environments
Dr. Thomas is the Ellery and Kirby Cramer Endowed Professor in Nursing
Email Address: kthomas@uw.edu

Virginia (Jennie) Turner, RN, MN
Lecturer
Research Interests:
Email Address: vft@uw.edu

Amy J. Walker, PhD, MSN, RN
Assistant Professor
Research Interests: Adolescent and young adult (AYA) cancer survivors
Email Address: walkeraj@uw.edu

Teresa Ward, PhD, RN
Associate Professor
Research Interests: Pediatric sleep
Email Address: teward@uw.edu

Carolyn H. Webster-Stratton, PhD, FAAN
Professor Emeritus
Research Interests: Parenting, intervention programs for behaviorally disturbed children
Email Address: cws@uw.edu

Karen Wilkinson, MN, ARNP
Clinical Instructor
Research Interests: Pediatric nursing
Email Address: kwilk@uw.edu

Dianne Wisner, MSN, RN, EdDc
Lecturer
Research Interests:
Email Address: dwisnr@uw.edu

Copyright © 2014 University of Washington
1959 NE Pacific Street, Seattle, Washington 98195