Skip to Content
Skip to Navigation

School Fact Sheet

The UW School of Nursing has a national and international reputation for excellence. An unusually fertile environment for nursing research guides and shapes its baccalaureate and graduate educational programs. It also builds practice that emphasizes leadership skills for the health care needs of a multicultural world.


Contact

Box 357260
University of Washington
Seattle, WA 98195
Phone: 206-543-8736
Email:
nscomm@uw.edu


Faculty: Departmentally - BNHS


Gaylene Altman, PhD, RN
Associate Professor
Research Interests: Dysmenorrhea, potential infertility.
Email Address: galtman@uw.edu

Maggie Baker, PhD, RN
Associate Professor
Research Interests: Elder abuse and neglect and factors that influence the ability of community-dwelling elders to maintain their independence
Email Address: mwbaker@uw.edu

Basia Belza, PhD, RN, FAAN
Professor
Research Interests: Healthy aging, evidence-based health promotion programs, physical activity, public health interventions and policy
Dr. Belza is the Aljoya Endowed Professor in Aging
Email Address: basiab@uw.edu

Donna Berry, PhD, RN, AOCN, FAAN
Affiliate Professor
Research Interests: Oncology, cancer pain
Email Address: donnalb@uw.edu

Patricia Blissitt, RN, PhD, CCRN, CNRN, CCNS, CCM, ACNS-BC
Assistant Professor, Clinical Faculty
Research Interests:
Email Address: pbliss@uw.edu

Eleanor F. Bond, PhD, RN, FAAN
Professor
Research Interests: Critical care nursing
Dr. Bond is the Susan and Michael Cummings Term Professor in Nursing
Email Address: rebond@uw.edu

Carol Boston-Fleischhauer, JD, MS, BSN
Senior Lecturer
Research Interests: Patient care practice, operations, management, education and consultation.
Email Address: carbos@uw.edu

Elizabeth Bridges, PhD, RN, CCNS, FCCM, FAAN
Associate Professor
Research Interests: Hemodynamic monitoring, critical care in unique and austere environments
Email Address: ebridges@uw.edu

Helen Trez Buckland, PhD, Med
Assistant Clinical Professor
Research Interests:
Email Address: trezbuck@uw.edu

Robert Burr, MSEE, PhD
Research Professor
Research Interests: Psychophysiology and time series analysis.
Email Address: bobburr@uw.edu

Phyllis Christianson, MN, ARNP-BC, GNP
Senior Lecturer
Research Interests: Gerontology
Email Address: phylch@uw.edu

Christine M. Coyne, RN, PhD.
Clinical Assistant Professor
Research Interests:
Email Address: coyne@uw.edu

Ruth F. Craven, EdD, RN, FAAN
Professor Emerita
Research Interests: Gerontological nursing
Email Address: ruthc@uw.edu

Susanna L. Cunningham, PhD, RN, FAAN
Professor
Research Interests: Cardiovascular risk factor management and reduction
Email Address: susannac@uw.edu

George Demiris, PhD, FACMI
Professor
Research Interests: Health informatics, home based technologies, technology and aging
Email Address: gdemiris@uw.edu

Adrian Dobra, PhD
Assistant Professor
Research Interests:
Email Address: adobra@uw.edu

Ardith Doorenbos, PhD, RN, FAAN
Associate Professor
Research Interests: Palliative care, geroonoclogy, culturally congruent care
Email Address: doorenbo@uw.edu

Cynthia Dougherty, PhD, ARNP, FAHA, FAAN
Professor
Research Interests: Adaptations of individuals and families to cardiac illness
Email Address: cindyd@uw.edu

Mary Eklund, MN, ARNP
Senior Lecturer
Research Interests: Neurological illnesses.
Email Address: mary.eklund@gmail.com

Azita Emami, PhD, MSN, RNT, RN, FAAN
Dean
Research Interests: Gerontology and health of older adults, transcultural nursing care
Email Address: sondean@uw.edu

Betty B. Gallucci, PhD. RN
Professor Emerita
Research Interests: Oncology, Exercise and Immune Responses
Email Address: gallucci@uw.edu

Young Ah Goo, PhD
Clinical Assistant Professor
Research Interests: proteomics investigations, biomarkers discovery, Systems biology
Email Address: youngah@uw.edu

Sue T. Hegyvary, PhD, RN, FAAN
Professor Emerita
Research Interests: Health services research, facility organization, institutional quality assurance, nursing management
Email Address: hegyvary@uw.edu

Margaret M. Heitkemper, RN, PhD
Professor and Chairperson
Research Interests: Gastrointestinal physiology, enteral nutrition, geriatrics
Email Address: heit@uw.edu

Rebecca A. Hills, PhD, MSPH
Assistant Clinical Professor
Research Interests:
Email Address: hillsr@uw.edu

Connie Hirnle,
Lecturer
Research Interests:
Email Address: chirnle@uw.edu

Monica E. Jarrett, PhD, RN
Professor
Research Interests: Research design, perceived stress and menstrual cycle regularity
Email Address: jarrett@uw.edu

Jill Jesurum, PhD, ARNP, FAHA
Clinical Associate Professor
Research Interests:
Email Address: jill.jesurum@swedish.org

Sindy Jo, RN, MN
Clinical Instructor
Research Interests:
Email Address: joyousme@uw.edu

Deborah Kearnes, MN, ARNP
Senior Lecturer
Research Interests: Geriatrics
Email Address: dkearnes@uw.edu

Catherine Kirkness, PhD, RN, CNN(C)
Research Associate Professor
Research Interests: Acute brain injury, critical care, physiologic complexity
Email Address: kirkness@uw.edu

Susan Landis, MN, RN
Lecturer
Research Interests:
Email Address: slandis@uw.edu

Carol A. Landis, PhD, RN
Professor
Research Interests: Sleep, sleep disturbance and pain.
Email Address: calandis@uw.edu

Kathleen Leach, MN, ARNP
Senior Lecturer/Clinical Instructor
Research Interests: Primary Health Care and health promotion of all ages with focus on women's health and pediatrics.
Email Address: kgl@uw.edu

Janet Lenart, MN, MPH, RN
Senior Lecturer
Research Interests:
Email Address: jlenart@uw.edu

Martha J. Lentz, PhD, RN
Research Professor
Research Interests: Sleep and biological rhythms, aging, research methods
Email Address: lentz@uw.edu

Linda L. Lewis, PhD, RN
Associate Professor Emerita
Research Interests: Pre-menstrual syndrome, women's health, critical care
Email Address: lllewis@uw.edu

William Lober, MS, MD
Associate Professor
Research Interests: Health Informatics, including Global Health, Public Health, and Clinical Informatics
Email Address: lober@uw.edu

Kerry Meyer, PhD, ARNP
Associate Professor
Research Interests: Gerontology, primary care
Email Address: kemey@uw.edu

Pamela H. Mitchell, PhD, RN, FAHA, FAAN
Professor
Research Interests: Neuroscience nursing, care delivery systems, clinical & translational research.
Email Address: pmitch@uw.edu

Sandra Adams Motzer, PhD, RN, FAHA, FAAN
Associate Professor Emerita
Research Interests: Women's responses to chronic health disturbances.
Email Address: underhil@uw.edu

Huong Q, Nguyen, PhD, RN
Associate Professor
Research Interests: Chronic illness, self-management, symptoms, physical activity, depression, genetics, biomarkers, aging, economic analyses, patient-centered information and communication technologies
Email Address: HQN@uw.edu

Maxine Patrick, Dr. P.H.
Professor Emerita
Research Interests:
Email Address:

Cynthia Price, MA, PhD, LMP
Research Assistant Professor
Research Interests: CAM therapies, PTSD and trauma recovery, mind-body medicine; body awareness, integrative care
Email Address: cynthiap@uw.edu

Patricia Prinz, PhD
Professor Emerita
Research Interests: Gerontology
Email Address: sarp@uw.edu

Kerryn Reding, PhD, MPH
Assistant Professor
Research Interests:
Email Address: kreding@uw.edu

Kumhee A. Ro, DNP, ARNP
Clinical Assistant Professor
Research Interests: Utilization of Nurse Practitioners in Acute Care Settings, Implementation of Policies/ Protocols in Clinical Practice, Preceptor Mentorship for Nurse Practitioner Education
Email Address: kamro@uw.edu

Anna Schwartz, FNP-BC, PhD, FAAN
Affiliate Associate Professor
Research Interests: Cancer and exercise, symptom management, cancer-related fatigue
Email Address: annaswtz@uw.edu

Sarah Shannon, PhD, RN
Associate Professor
Research Interests: Nursing science, ethics
Email Address: sshannon@uw.edu

Terri Simpson, PhD, RN
Associate Professor
Research Interests: Tuberculosis screening
Email Address: tsimpson@uw.edu

Diana M. Taibi Buchanan, PhD, RN
Assistant Professor
Research Interests:
Email Address: dmtaibi@uw.edu

Hilaire Thompson, PhD, RN, ACNP-BC, CNRN, FAAN
Associate Professor
Research Interests: Traumatic brain injury; geriatric trauma; biomarkers; gerontechnology; health services research; evidence-based practice
Email Address: hilairet@uw.edu

Joachim Voss, PhD, RN, ACRN
Associate Professor
Research Interests: HIV, cancer, symptom management, genetics, skeletal muscle, mitochondria, environment, global health
Email Address: vossj@uw.edu

Joie Whitney, PhD, RN, CWCN, FAAN
Professor
Research Interests: Wound healing
Dr. Whitney is the Harborview Medical Center Endowed Professor in Critical Care
Email Address: joiewhit@uw.edu

Juvann Williams, MN, ARNP
Senior Lecturer
Research Interests:
Email Address: jwolff@uw.edu

Seth Wolpin, PhD, MPH, RN
Clinical Assistant Professor
Research Interests: Health communication and health literacy through the use of information technology tools
Email Address: swolpin@uw.edu

Susan L. Woods, PhD, RN, FAHA, FAAN
Professor Emerita
Research Interests: Hemodynamic measurement, circadian rhythmicity, cardiovascular nursing.
Email Address: slwoods@uw.edu

Nancy Fugate Woods, PhD, RN, FAAN
Professor
Research Interests: women's health, menstrual cycle, menopause transition

Email Address: nfwoods@uw.edu

Brenda Zierler, PhD, RN, FAAN
Professor
Research Interests: Health systems and patient outcomes Interprofessional education, practice and research (developing faculty to be expert in mentoring students from various health professions). Prevention and management of deep vein thrombosis. Clinical guidelines and outcomes research for venous thromboembolism. Use of simulation and other educational technologies in team-based training.
Email Address: brendaz@uw.edu

Copyright © 2014 University of Washington
1959 NE Pacific Street, Seattle, Washington 98195